Moonless

I gazed up to a moonless sky

Summer had knocked, and was denied

I whispered to the wind “Oh Hi.

Will you be my muse tonight?”

 

I gazed up to her moonless breast

Wondering where the milky crest

Has disappeared with all the rest

Of pinpricks, they had fled the nest

 

I gazed up to the moonless dark

As black as dreams, and just as stark

A ocean with a missing ark

A kingdom with a lost monarch

 

I gazed up and I felt alone

A meager soul in skin and bone

The sky, like an ancient tome

Swallowed me, and took me home

 

2 thoughts on “Moonless

Leave a Reply

