Poetry Within

It’s ten fifteen
I cradle my coffee gone cold
And stare at my computer screen
There’s poetry within

It’s twelve, lunchtime
I step out, grab a bite to eat
The clock tower chimes
My heart bubbles with rhyme

It’s 4pm, a break
I stand, stretch and yawn
Reflect on my mistakes
The words in my soul, ache

Now I’m packing up, it’s eight
The streets are busy, cabs full
At the crossing I stand and wait
On words, lines, verses, I ruminate

Midnight outside, blue, serene
Tired, bloated, sleep swallowed
Another day come and been
There’s still poetry within

One thought on “Poetry Within

Leave a Reply

